Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Page Content

Advancing Technology for a Sustainable Planet

Workshop at Stanford University


Meet the Speakers

Event and Panel Moderators


Chris Field

Melvin and Joan Lane Professor of Interdisciplinary Environmental Studies; Professor of Earth System Science and of Biology, Stanford University; Director, Woods Institute for the Environment; Senior Fellow, Precourt Institute for Energy


John C. Havens

Sustainability Practice Lead, IEEE Standards Association; Staff Lead, Planet Positive 2030; Executive Director, The IEEE Global Initiative on Ethics of Autonomous and Intelligent Systems

Ram Rajagopal

Ram Rajagopal

Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy and Professor, by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University

Keynote Speakers

Susan Athey

Susan Athey

The Economics of Technology Professor, Stanford Graduate School of Business;  Associate Director, Stanford Institute for Human-Centered AI (HAI)


Sandy Pentland

Toshiba Professor of Media Arts and Sciences; Professor of Information Technology; Media Lab Entrepreneurship Program Director, MIT Management Sloan School; Visiting Scholar, Stanford Digital Economy Lab (S-DEL)

Panel I: Climate Change: Impacts, Adaptation, and Mitigation


Robert Fish

Lecturer in Computer Science, Princeton University; Former President, IEEE SA

photo of Gabrielle headshot

Gabrielle Wong-Parodi

Assistant Professor, Earth System Science; Center Fellow, Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment

Panel II: Environmental AI Technology & ESG Regulations


Melodena Stephens

Professor of Innovation Management and Research Fellow, Mohammed Bin Rashid School of Government (MBRSG); Visiting Scholar, University of Wollongong in Dubai


Kathy Baxter

Principal Architect, Ethical AI Practice, Salesforce


Jef Caers

Professor of Geological Sciences, Stanford University


Peter Henderson

PhD Student in Computer Science; JD Candidate, Stanford Law School; AI Fellow, OpenPhilanthropy; Graduate Fellow, Regulation, Evaluation, and Governance Lab, Stanford University

Panel III: The Value of an Equitable, Flourishing Planet


Mei Lin Fung

Chair & Cofounder, People Centered Internet; Cofounder, ImpactX; Chair, IEEE IC Social Impact Measurement


Salomon Salinas

Executive Vice President and Sustainability Lead for the Americas, Capgemini


Eva Woo

Vice President of Impact, Ontopology; Impact Advisor, CellX; Former China Program Manager, Stanford PACS

Art Demonstration

Committee Takeaways


Gora Datta

Chairman, IEEE Healthcare; General Chair, 2022 IEEE 1st-Global Emerging Technology Blockchain Forum; Visiting Scholar, University of California at Berkeley 

Brian headshot

Brian Friedrich

Principal, friedrich & friedrich corp; Board Member, IESBA


Laura Friedrich

Principal, friedrich & friedrich corp; Technical Advisor, IESBA; Chair, CPA British Columbia Bylaws Committee


Colleen Kirtland

AVP Emerging Technology, Technology Innovation and QA, Pacific Life


Joel Myers

CEO, DOMILA Limited (Ireland); Co-Chair, IEEE Internet of Things (IoT) Consortium Smart Cities Working Group 


Max Song

Co-Founder, Sustainable Bitcoin Standard; Founder, Carbonbase; Forbes China 30U30 Energy Honoree


Christopher Whitt

Chair, Coasts and Oceans IEEE Committee; Ships Signature Engineer, Irving Shipbuilding


Marisa Zalabak

Founder, Open Channel Culture; Co-chair, IEEE AI Ethics Education Committee

Video Recordings

Cyrus profile photo

Cyrus Hodes

Cofounder, AIGC Chain; Cofounder, Stability AI (exited); Steering Committee, AI Commons


Jeroen van den Hoven

Professor of Ethics and Technology, Delft University of Technology; Editor in Chief, Ethics and Information Technology; Scientific Director, Delft Design for Values Institute; Founding Scientific Director, 4TU.Centre for Ethics and Technology