Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Page Content

2019 Fall Conference: AI Ethics, Policy, and Governance

Meet the Speakers

Ryan Abbott

Professor of Law and Health Sciences, University of Surrey School of Law; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA

Bridget Algee-Hewitt

Senior Research Scientist, Humanities and Sciences Interdepartmental Programs, Stanford University

Susan Athey

Susan Athey

Economics of Technology Professor, Senior Fellow at The Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and Professor, by Courtesy, of Economics


Lucy Bernholz

Director, Digital Civil Society Lab at Stanford PACS; Senior Research Scholar, Stanford PACS

Maxime Bouton

Research Assistant, Stanford Intelligent Systems Laboratory, Ph.D. Candidate, Stanford University

Sharon Bradford Franklin

Policy Director, New America's Open Technology Institute; Co-Director, New America's Cybersecurity Initiative

Emma Brunskill

Emma Brunskill

Associate Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University; Faculty Affiliate, Stanford HAI

Erik Brynjolfsson

Erik Brynjolfsson

Director, Stanford Digital Economy Lab; Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Professor and Senior Fellow, Stanford HAI; Ralph Landau Senior Fellow, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research 

Matt Cagle

Technology and Civil Liberties Attorney, ACLU of Northern California

Moses Charikar

Donald E. Knuth Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University

Wendy Chun

Canada 150 Research Chair in New Media, School of Communication, Simon Fraser University

Peter Cihon

Research Affiliate, Center for the Governance of AI Future of Humanity Institute, University of Oxford

person photo

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar

President, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; Former Justice of the Supreme Court of California; Visiting Scholar and former Herman Phleger Professor, Stanford Law School; Advisory Council, Stanford HAI

Matthew Daniels

Technical Director for Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Research & Engineering

Ken Denman

Former President and CEO, Emotient, Inc.; Venture Partner, Sway Ventures

Deven Desai

Deven Desai

Associate Professor, Area Coordinator for Law and Ethics at Georgia Tech

Larry Diamond

Larry Diamond

Mosbacher Senior Fellow in Global Democracy, Stanford Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies; William L. Clayton Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

Eileen   Donahoe

Eileen Donahoe

Executive Director, Global Digital Policy Incubator, Stanford University

Nicolas Economou

Nicolas Economou

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, H5; Chair, Law Initiative, The Future Society; Chair, Law Committee, IEEE Global Initiative

David Engstorm

David Engstorm

Professor of Law, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives, Bernard D. Bergreen Faculty Scholar, Stanford University

John Etchemendy

John Etchemendy

Provost Emeritus, and Patrick Suppes Family Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, Stanford University; Denning Co-Director of Stanford HAI

Andrew  Grotto

Andrew Grotto

Research Scholar at the Cyber Policy Center; Director, Program on Geopolitics, Technology and Governance

Verity  Harding

Verity Harding

Visiting Fellow, Bennett Institute for Public Policy, University of Cambridge

Johannes Himmelreich

Assistant Professor, Department of Public Administration and International Affairs, Syracuse University

Daniel E. Ho

Daniel E. Ho

William Benjamin Scott and Luna M. Scott Professor of Law, Stanford Law School; Director, Stanford Regulation, Evaluation, and Governance Lab; Faculty Associate Director, Stanford HAI

Reid Hoffman

Reid Hoffman

Co-Founder, LinkedIn; Partner, Greylock Partners

Gabbrielle Johnson

Bersoff Faculty Fellow, Department of Philosophy, New York University

Colin Kahl

Co-Director of the Center for International Security and Cooperation, Stanford University

Mykel Kochenderfer

Mykel Kochenderfer

Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and, by courtesy, of Computer Science, Stanford University; Faculty Affiliate, Stanford HAI

Mira Lane

Partner Director, Ethics & Society, Microsoft

Spektor profile photo

Seth Lazar

Professor, College of Arts and Social Sciences, The Australian National University, Canberra

Ritchie Lee

Staff Researcher, NASA Ames Research Center

mark headshot

Mark A. Lemley

William H. Neukom Professor of Law, Stanford Law School; Director of the Stanford Program in Law, Science and Technology; Senior Fellow, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research

Fei-Fei headshot photo

Fei-Fei Li

Sequoia Professor, Computer Science Department; Denning Co-Director (On Leave) of Stanford HAI

Peter Loewen

Professor of Political Science at the University of Toronto


Terah Lyons

Executive In Residence, Zetta Venture Partners; Member of the AI Index Steering Committee and Affiliated Fellow, Stanford HAI

Sean McDonald

Co-Founder, Digital Public; Non-Resident Fellow, Digital Civil Society Lab, Stanford PACS

Mike McFaul

Michael A. McFaul

Director, Stanford Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies; Ken Olivier and Angela Nomellini Professor of International Studies, Stanford University; Peter and Helen Bing Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution

Jasmine McNealy

Non-Resident Fellow, Digital Civil Society Lab, Stanford PACS; Associate Professor, University of Florida

Daniel Murray

Executive Director at the Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity

Jessica Cussins Newman

AI Policy Specialist, Future of Life Institute; Research Fellow, UC Berkeley Center for Long-Term Cybersecurity; Research Advisor, The Future Society

DJ Patil

DJ Patil

Former Chief Data Scientist of United States; Head of Technology, Devoted Health

Marco Pavone

Associate Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and, by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering and of Computer Science, Stanford University

Nathaniel Persily

James B. McClatchy Professor of Law at Stanford Law School; Senior Fellow, Freeman Spogli Institute; Professor, by courtesy, Political Science


Irina Raicu

Director of the Internet Ethics Program at the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics, Santa Clara University


Rob Reich

Professor of Political Science, Faculty Director of the McCoy Family Center for Ethics in Society, and the Marc and Laura Andreessen Faculty Co-Director of the Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society; Associate Director, Stanford HAI

Dorsa Sadigh

Dorsa Sadigh

Assistant Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University; Faculty Affiliate, Stanford HAI

Marietje headshot photo

Marietje Schaake

International Policy Fellow, Stanford HAI; International Policy Director, Stanford Cyber Policy Center


Londa Schiebinger

John L. Hinds Professor of the History of Science, Stanford University

Erika profile photo

Erika Strandberg

Executive Director of Strategic Initiatives, Computer Science, Stanford University

Susskind headshot photo

Jamie Susskind

Author of Future Politics: Living Together in a World Transformed by Tech

ge wang

Ge Wang

Associate Professor, Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA); Department of Music and, by courtesy, of Computer Science, Stanford University

Amy Zegart

Amy Zegart

Senior Fellow at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies; Morris Arnold and Nona Jean Cox Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution; Professor, by courtesy, of Political Science

Aleksandar Zeljic

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Computer Science, Stanford University

Annette Zimmermann

Postdoctoral Research Associate in Values and Public Policy, University Center for Human Values

Zou headshot photo

James Zou

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Data Science and, by courtesy, of Computer Science and of Electrical Engineering